Cape Town / Desserts / Eat / High Tea / Lifestyle

High Tea at the The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town

You must understand how much I LOVED this High Tea at the Table Bay Hotel, V&A Waterfront. Despite the grandeur of the atmosphere and decor (which is a criteria for a proper high tea in my opinion), there was something decidedly Mad-Hattery about the offerings on the table. There we were, Widaad and I, deciding between the English Breakfast and Oolong Blue, when something fabulous floated by, and my absolute glee could not be contained (I will not proceed to elaborate). A Rainbow Cheesecake. I could not be happier had I seen fairies, unicorns and real life My Little Ponies prancing around the table! And the rose petals and pink sparkly spun sugar were the perfect touch.

We opted for the three course High Tea (R185) which begins with savouries presented at the table:

DSC_0108Curried chicken quiche, spinach and feta quiche (I asked for the vegetarian options). DSC_0107 DSC_0105 DSC_0103Next up was the tier of scones (raisin, choc chip and plain) served with clotted cream and preserves. We didn’t go to crazy with these two courses as we were saving space for…DSC_0144THE MAIN EVENT:DSC_0095 DSC_0094DSC_0133Custard layered cake with fresh red figs and strawberries. And lots of little black vanilla dots : ) DSC_0130Milk Tart cups DSC_0128Coffee and praline swirls  DSC_0126Lemon meringue  DSC_0125The Care Bear Cheesecake! DSC_0123Christmas mince pies DSC_0122Creme brulee cups DSC_0119 DSC_0118Tiny baby chocolate eclairs DSC_0116 DSC_0111Flourless chocolate cake, out of this world!!!DSC_0141 DSC_0140 DSC_0137 DSC_0180 DSC_0166Our little nook DSC_0165 DSC_0160 DSC_0156DSC_0152 How sweet is this Cream Swan??  DSC_0151 DSC_0182DSC_0185 DSC_0184The only drawback was that once your savouries are taken away, there is nothing salty to nibble on between sweet treats, thus preventing you from exercising the Layering technique (sweet, salty, sweet). Having said that, this was definitely among the Top Two places to have an excellent High Tea experience in Cape Town. I especially appreciated the imagination and love with which everything was created.

Where is your favourite High Tea spot?

*Update: You can view my next and even more delectable visit to The Table Bay here.

21 thoughts on “High Tea at the The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town

  1. They def give the nellie a run for their money! The rainbow cheesecake is so you.

    The Table Bay is known for their scrumptious breakfasts, you shoudl def try that out next.

  2. I want to lie in that Care Bear Cheesecake forever. Just wrap myself in it and stay there. I’d be really, REALLY happy :D This high tea looked amazing, wow. need to get myself down to the next one IA.

  3. Wow! Phenomenal photos and pretty good write up too. Thanks for uncovering this little gem of a place will definitely try this place. Keep up the good work, can’t wait to see what’s next…

  4. Pingback: My Homepage

  5. Oh wow! I have tried the Mount Nelson a few times and loved it, but this is now on my TO DO LIST! I need an excuse right away… I love, love, love the rainbow cheesecake!

    • I’m a huge fan of the Nellie, and was certain that no other high tea could compare, but Table Bay is definitely up there! If you have any high tea spots to recommend please let me know. But just not The One & Only, huge disappointment there!

  6. Pingback: If Life was a Tea Party, I’d be the Rainbow Cheesecake (Table Bay High Tea) | Crushland

Love your comments, don't forget to leave your name :)

