Lifestyle / Photos

A Weekend in Greyton Part I

After weeks of hunting around for the perfect Winter getaway I finally found it: Elandskloof Guest Farm in Greyton. Couldn’t have asked for better.

It was perfect. Our cottage turned out to be a large four bedroom abode with double volume ceilings and all the creature comforts of the olden days: shelves filled with books, a huge fireplace, 100% cotton percale bedding, a well equipped kitchen. When I say olden days, I also mean no TV and no cellphone reception, which was met with horror when I broke the news! But everybody soon came to appreciate the technology-free time, tending to the fire and exploring the surrounds. The luxury that was included was a dishwasher though, which I was so grateful for because I loathe doing dishes.

Here are some of my favourite memories, the ones that I took snaps of.

sun2aY woke me up on Saturday morning to watch the sunrise with him. We arrived late the night before in total darkness and had no idea of the natural beauty that surrounded us. sun4It was about 2 degrees! That’s me wrapped in gown and blanket.sun1

The guys kept the fire burning most of the weekend, this was definitely the best thing of all. We won’t be seeing a fireplace this size for a while!Fire5 Fire4The kids were wrapped up in PJ’s and gowns by early afternoon when the temperature starts to drop rapidly. Fire3 Fire2 Fire1

The cottage that was our home for the weekend.house4 house5The entrance and pathway leading to the house. house3 House1 house7

Picnics in the gardenpicnic3 picnic2 picnic1This big fat chicken kept the kids company the whole time we spent there, no fear and never even flinching! picnic4 picnic5

Lunch on the patioAl1 AL2

Hot chocolate and SmOreos (another post on that to come) any time of day because of the cold 🙂hotchoc3 hotchoc2 hotchoc1

Finding a spot in the sun to curl up with a book until lunchtime.Sun3 Sun2 Sun1

There are more but this post is already too long, so I’ll save the rest for the next post 🙂

11 thoughts on “A Weekend in Greyton Part I

  1. I need to go there!! I’ve never even heard of that place.
    And is that braaivleis I see?? 😦
    Next time I’m on that side of the world I’ll try to convince my family to spend a weekend there. I love big family get-togethers and getaways.

    • It’s only 1.5 hours from Cape Town, and I only heard about it recently, it’s really lovely! You should definitely go I know you’ll love it. Yes there was plenty of braaivleis hehe

  2. WoW!This must be my favourite post…You have to send me the details of this place, rates etc

    ________________________________

  3. Pingback: Beautiful Getaways in Greyton | Greyton Tourism

  4. Pingback: The Riverside Cottages, Elandskloof Farm | Crushland

Love your comments, don't forget to leave your name :)